Linkedin ML Internship

Hi everyone,

So I recently applied to the LinkedIn AI Engineer position and I got notified today that they wanted to move forward with an interview. They said that in the technical interview, I can expect to be assessed on Basic probability and statistics, Machine Learning fundamentals, such as linear regression, overfitting/regularization, clustering methods, ranking methods, natural language processing and Mathematical modeling . I’m feeling kind of nervous because I’ve never done an interview like this before. I was wondering if anyone who’s went through the process had any preparation tips or resources.

Thanks

Hi there. First of all, congrats and try not to be too nervous - just prepare as much as you can! I assume your major/background is not in stats?

In terms of preparing for the technical interview, here are the major parts to review and prepare for:

1. ML coding: practice writing code from scratch for methods like k-means, KNN, Gaussian Naive Bayes, etc. How would you do kfold cross validation?
  2. ML fundamental concepts: I would review the basics obviously as you mentioned but also deep learning (check out deep learning specialization course on Coursera), SVM, MLE, logistic regression. It’ll be good to know techniques to improve or tune your network such as dropout, batch normalization etc. I would say logistic regression, linear regression (including Ridge and Lasso), clustering and neural networks are most important. Know regression VERY well, there are a lot of questions that can be asked here. Also know the metrics in which to measure the performance of these models such as precision/recall, mean squared error, etc. They also like to ask about things related to Bayes Statistics/Bayesian interpretation. You wanna be able to explain the pros and cons of different learning methods and which one you would use given different scenarios or datasets.